PONTIACS Identified for AJHL League Awards

PONTIACS identified for 2018/19 AJHL League Awards:

Luke ALBERT – Most Outstanding Defenseman

Luke is the first defenseman since 2015/16 to be nominated for the Most Outstanding Defenseman Award. Brinson PASICHNUK won it that season.

Colby MUISE – Most Outstanding Goaltender

Colby MUISE is the first goaltender to be nominated for the Top Goaltender Award since Julien LaPLANTE won the award in 2010/11.

Rick SWAN – Most Outstanding Coach

This is Rick’s third Coach of the Year nomination since 2014/15. Rick won the award in 2015/16 and that same year was also nominated for the CJHL Coach of the Year. 

The Alberta Junior Hockey League, in partnership with RBC, today announced the 2018-2019 AJHL Award Finalists.  The annual awards are presented in six categories, including Most Valuable Player, Rookie of the Year, Outstanding Defenceman, Top Goaltender, Most Dedicated Player and Coach of the Year.   
The General Managers and Coaches of the Alberta Junior Hockey League have selected two finalists from each division through the first two phases of voting.  The winner for each of the awards will be determined through a final stage of voting and announced during the final week of the AJHL regular season.

2018-2019 Alberta Junior Hockey League Award Finalists

Outstanding Defenceman – W.G. (Bill) Scott Memorial Trophy, Presented by the Alberta Ford Dealers

Zach Vinnell – Camrose Kodiaks
Mark Drohan – Canmore Eagles
TJ Lloyd – Spruce Grove Saints
Luke Albert – Bonnyville Pontiacs

Top Goaltender – Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey League Trophy

Pierce Charleson – Brooks Bandits
Brady Parker – Okotoks Oilers
Colby Muise – Bonnyville Pontiacs
Luke Lush – Drayton Valley Thunder

Coach of the Year – Presented by Finning Canada

Ryan Papaioannou – Brooks Bandits
Kevin Hasselberg – Drumheller Dragons
Eric Thurston – Drayton Valley Thunder
Rick Swan – Bonnyville Pontiacs