Lucas THORNE Named to the AJHL All-Academic Team

Lucas THORNE named to the Alberta Junior Hockey League’s All-Academic Team for the 2018/19 season.

The Alberta Junior Hockey League, in partnership with Inter Pipeline, is honoured to announce this year?s Inter Pipeline AJHL All-Academic Team.

The players nominated are regarded as having commendable dedication to their studies at either the high school or post-secondary level, along with a grade score reflective of their academic success. These players demonstrate the qualities of a strong student-athlete working to further their athletic and academic pursuit.

?We are proud to support the dreams and goals of these young athletes,? says Chris Bayle, President & CEO of Inter Pipeline. ?Being able to recognize their dedication to athletic excellence and academic achievement, both on and off the ice, is a privilege.?

2019 Inter Pipeline AJHL All-Academic Team

Bonnyville Pontiacs, Lucas Thorne
Brooks Bandits, Nathan Plessis
Calgary Canucks, Nic Herringer
Calgary Mustangs, Scott Nicholson
Camrose Kodiaks, Carson Welke
Canmore Eagles, Alex Young
Drayton Valley Thunder, Luke Lush
Drumheller Dragons, Markus Boguslavsky
Fort McMurray Oil Barons, Jarred White
Grande Prairie Storm, Johnathan Hader
Lloydminster Bobcats, Andrew Hunt
Okotoks Oilers, Austin Wong
Olds Grizzlys, Jay Thomson
Sherwood Park Crusaders, Zach Kaiser
Spruce Grove Saints, Liam McCloskey
Whitecourt Wolverines, Hoon Kim

In conjunction with Inter Pipeline, the AJHL has also developed the Inter Pipeline Scholarship Program to provide one current or former AJHL Athlete with a $1,500 scholarship towards their post-secondary education. The scholarship is awarded to the player deemed most deserving among the sixteen applicants (one per AJHL team) based on their proven qualities in the areas of leadership, sportsmanship, dedication and citizenship.

Congratulations Lucas on this accomplishment.