Lucas THORNE Named to the 2020 AJHL Viterra All-League Team

The Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL) today announced the 2019-20 Viterra All-League Teams.  Players are selected through a voting process completed by the General Managers and Coaches of the Alberta Junior Hockey League.

Viterra South Division All-League Team

G Griffin Bowerman – Camrose Kodiaks
D Tim Rego – Brooks Bandits
D Eric Parker – Okotoks Oilers
F Alex Young – Canmore Eagles
F Jack Works – Okotoks Oilers
F Randy Hernandez – Brooks Bandits

Viterra North Division All-League Team

G Carter Gylander – Sherwood Park Crusaders
D Adam Sandstrom – Whitecourt Wolverines
D Michael Benning – Sherwood Park Crusaders
F Lucas Thorne – Bonnyville Pontiacs
F Arjun Atwal – Sherwood Park Crusaders
F Carter Savoie – Sherwood Park Crusaders

Lucas THORNE had a standout 3 year Junior career with the Bonnyville PONTIACS after a great prep school career at St. Andrews College. Lucas is committed to the College of Holy Cross next season and will join Crusader’s and former PONTIAC alumni Grayson CONSTABLE and Bobby YOUNG.

Lucas leaves the PONTIACS with:

  • 168 points – 7th all-time career
  • 69 goals – 8th all-time career
  • 99 assists – 7th all-time career
  • 188 games – 10th all-time career games played 

“I appreciate everything that the PONTIACS organization has done for me, giving me an opportunity to grow as a player and a person. My family support and the coaching over the past 3 years has put me in a great position as I move on to the College of Holy Cross to pursue an education and play for one of the best hockey programs in the country.”

The Bonnyville PONTIACS, our community and our fans couldn’t be happier for Lucas as he impacted our organization and our community in such a positive way. Thorny left “the jersey in a better place” which is the true testament to a successful career.”